Minutes of the General Meeting
Dallas Genealogical Society
Saturday, December 10, 2011
O'Hare Room, J. Erik Jonsson Central Library
Dallas Public Library System

The meeting was called to order at 12pm by President David Temple.

David introduced the 2011-2012 Executive Committee as organized by the new ByLaws approved by the membership at our General Meeting on November 5.

President - David Temple

VP of Fundraising - Sandra Crowley

Secretary - Carolyn Davis

Treasurer - Nathan White

Past President - Janet Khashab

David presented for the membership's approval the following appointed directors to the Board. Carolyn Davis moved, seconded by Ed Kutz, that the membership approve these appointments. The motion carried.

Director of Education - Jean Larson

Director of Membership - Gloria Goodwin

Director of Printing and Distribution - Harmon Adair

Director of Publicity - Pat Stone

Director of Volunteers - Patrick McKinney

Director of Publication Content - Marianne Szabo

There are several positions which are presidential appointees and do not require membership approval. David announced the following:

Sales - Jimmy Stone

IT Administrator - Barbara Ware

Webmaster - Tony Hanson

Mail Administrator - Elizabeth Thurmond

Two positions have not yet been filled - Newsletter Editor and Journal Editor. David asked for volunteers for these positions.

David turned the meeting over to VP of Education Jean Larson to lead the rest of the meeting. Jean announced that the Society is working on some activities that tie into the second season of Who Do You Think You Are?

Jean then introduced Sammie Lee, chair of the Awards Committee, to conduct the Awards section of the meeting. The following Awards were announced and presented:

Library Volunteer Service - Fran Hawkins, recipient; Sharon Martin, presenter.

Heritage Preservation - Carol Roark, recipient; Sammie Lee, presenter.

Lloyd Bockstruck Distinguished Service - Brent Holcomb, recipient; Carolyn Davis, presenter.

Volunteer of the Year - Sandra Crowley, recipient; Ora Penn, presenter.

Award of Merit - Barbara Ware, recipient; Sammie Lee, presenter.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Davis DGS Secretary